The Falling

010

Some savor taste of light as they drift

slowly through the evening of their lives;

others whoosh in a frenzied dance

of joy, of madness, or, perhaps of fear,

attuned, it seems, to secret, wild rhythms

in the gusty autumn winds.

*

I wonder, are these leaves content

with their brief shining? weary of the weakness

creeping through their shriveled veins and ready

to let go? or reluctant? sad to leave behind

the chatter of their wind-blown friends,

the playful hide-and-seeking sun,

the stillness of the stars? 

*

I love to watch these golden, scarlet fallings,

each so alone, so, so alone; each carries

emptiness, a fullness too; each seems to hum

a lovely, ancient, tumble of a poem, hymn

to brightly colored life, to dignity of death,

a muted melancholy joy.

5 thoughts on “The Falling

  1. This touches me deeply because it seems to be a window to the deep places in your soul. Thank you for your vulnerability in the midst of weakness and mortality. My reaction to the poem is more one of melancholy than of joy. It is beautiful but sad, reflecting a great deal of your journey. We are all “alone, so, so alone” and yet by sharing this you make a space for us to come along side you and find community with you and with one another.

    A Prayer Before Sleep.
    I lay down tonight in the arms of the Triune God.
    The Father who made me,
    The Son who redeemed me.
    The Spirit who dwells within me

    God guard my life,
    Jesus grant me rest,
    Spirit fill my dreams and wake me to the dance

    Into my hands I commend my Spirit,
    for you, O Lord, have redeemed me

    Mike Weber

  2. Thank you, Michael, for your comments, and thank you for the beautiful “Prayer before Sleep.” This sounds very Celtic, but I’m wondering if it comes from there or if you yourself wrote this. I especially love the phrase “wake me to the dance.” Thank you for your ongoing friendship and the “community” this sustains for me.

    • Thank you, Carol. It is modeled after a Celtic prayer, but it is something I wrote myself. The final couplet is a quote from Psalm 31:5. I read recently that, as a faithful Jew, Jesus would have recited portions of this psalm every night before going to sleep. Thus when he faced his own death on the cross this verse was already imprinted in his heart and soul and so it came to his lips.

      I use this prayer every night before going to sleep, both to remind me of my own mortality and to entrust myself to God.

  3. And Advent Blessings to you as well. Sounds like, from FB, you have a very busy Advent schedule, so hope all will go well. My poem isn’t very Advent-y; more late fall-ish, but I do so love the trees and leaves in my backyard!

Leave a Reply

