Palm Sunday

cross-rock

I looked out my window on Palm Sunday morning and saw this cross “shadowed” on the rock in our backyard.  I posted the picture on Facebook, and my good friend Jane responded with a poem.  Here it is:

In my garden

A cross shaped tree-limb shadow

Lies on the cold hard stone,

Which has not yet unsealed

The opening to Spring.

 

In my garden

X marks the spot

Where hopes and dreams are buried,

Until  green leaves and trumpeting blooms

Announce a Resurrection.

 

In my garden

A point where two lines meet

Show Earth and Heaven intersect,

In dreary places here below

As we reflect the Light.

Jane Cronkite

3-24-2013

2 thoughts on “Palm Sunday

  1. Carol, When I looked at your photo, my thoughts went to this Sunday’s scripture, “I tell you,” he replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.” Luke 19:40

    A stone with a shadow cross — what a beautiful gift from the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

