Fog

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Softly sinister, it paints my window gray and

drapes itself across the houses and the trees

that usually greet and smile at me each morning as I

sip my cup of white orange blossom tea;

the bright red shovel on my neighbor’s deck,

the solid rock that sits forever underneath my trees—

all hidden now, wrapped in steely shroud so

dense it turns my world into a place I do

not recognize; the sun, the sky, the clouds all

vanished—gone; yet strange how all these

missing things seem eerily more present and

more precious in their absence than when

fully, certain here.

I’m mesmerized by this fog, but also fear its

chilling gloom and wish I could just blow it all

away, as well as every other fog that will in time

wrap round the now familiars of my world;

I can’t, but when the next fog comes, and come it will,

spill from sky to mute the colors of my life, ooze through

illness, other woes, to still life’s music to mere

echoes from afar, or swirl in dust of grief and loss to

blur, distort the contours of my mind and settle

dry and gritty in my mouth; yes, come it will, but

when it comes, let me remember windy joys and

music from the clouds, bright red shovels and

forever rocks, and let me move into the

haze—cautious, anchored, firm; trust the Breath that

hovers close and blows me tiny specks of light to

point my halting way until I see again just where and

who I’m meant to be, until I find once more a

clarity and home.

Selections from a prayer by Thomas Merton

MY LORD GOD, I have no idea where I am going.  I do not see the road ahead of me.  I cannot know for certain where it will end.  Nor do I really know myself… [but]…I will trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death.  I will not fear, for you are ever with me, and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.

6 thoughts on “Fog

  1. I thought I was reading about the FOG of the Lowcountry of South Carolina … moving. Then I was transposed into the world of where are we and where are we going and then to the world of the hereafter. And finally the words of a beautiful thought provoking prayer. We have had over 12 inches of rain this February and many mornings with a heavy (wet) dense fog. Finally the fog lifted but for a time it seemed like all stood still. Thanks for your wonderful thoughts.

    • Guess it’s true that fog, whatever its source, pervades all of our lives at times! Thanks be to God for those moments when it lifts, even if ever so briefly, and for the sense that we are never alone as we move through life’s fogs!

Leave a Reply

