Still Life

“Still Life with Pears and Grapes”

Claude Monet, 1867

“Only in your solitude will you come upon your own beauty.”

“There is a lantern in the soul, which makes your solitude luminous.”

John O’Donohue, Anam Cara

My illness demands I rest—aggressive rest,

they say, and I do rest…a lot,

but too often rest is rest-less-ness, and

tangled in pools of dark, I can feel

useless, worn, and broken,

frayed at the edges;

hollow at the core;

longing to “do” instead of simply to “be.”

I’d like that to change, like to find that

stillness that glows in Monet’s

spotted pears, in his grapes and apples that shine from within.  I’d like my

restless rest to grow into a solitude that

is at peace with all that is, with

all that has been, with

all that will be; a solitude that

savors all the good, that

sifts the not-so-good into the hands of a

greater Solitude that holds and

shines in all, shines even in

me, Lantern glowing gently

in my sometime darkness.

4 thoughts on “Still Life

  1. I would love to live like a river flows, carried by the surprise of its own unfolding.
    John O’Donohue, “Fluent” from Conamara Blues

Leave a Reply

