“Liviousness”

“Oh Lord, you have searched me and known me”

“You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me”

“Wonderful are your works; that I know very well”

(from Psalm 139)

Much of the time I live my life in obliviousness.  I focus on my “to do” list or worry about some petty concern, and I can be almost totally unaware of the beauty all around me, unaware of quiet places deep within me, oblivious to the rhythms and cadences of God’s persistent presence in my life.  In our busy, high-tech world, I suspect this obliviousness is true of many of us.  Who has time to be more aware of the depth and richness of life, when all our gadgets are chirping at us with the latest info or enticing us to play yet one more game on our laptops or iPhones?

So my prayer for myself  these days and for those of you who will pause to read some of the posts on this blog from time to time is that we may become more “livious.”  That we will be able to delete that little “ob” (“un” or “against”) from the obliviousness of our lives and cultivate a “liviousness,” an ever-expanding awareness.  An awareness of the mystery of our inner lives.  An awareness of the splendor that surrounds us in the natural world.  An awareness of the reality of God’s steadfast presence pulsing quietly in all the corners and crevices of our lives.

The psalmist who wrote Psalm 139 was so keenly aware of himself, so keenly aware of the majesty of the creation around him.  And he was also so very aware of God’s intimate closeness to him.  As we become more “livious,” I hope we, too, will sense the hum of God’s hovering presence in our lives and, with the psalmist, will be able to say: “You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me”—in our darkest nights and in our brightest days.

So thanks for stopping by.  Because of the toll of  CFS/ME (chronic fatigue syndrome or myalgic encephalomyelitis as it is also called), I won’t be on any regular schedule for posting on this blog, but I hope you’ll visit from time to time, and I hope what you find will help you to move to a greater awareness, a greater “liviousness” of life in all its richness.  I invite you to share your thoughts and responses.

9 thoughts on ““Liviousness”

  1. Good Morning Friend – what a gift you bring to all of us who read your reflections – so true that we (I) get caught up in playing one more game and don’t take the time for pausing, deep breathing and reflecting on the presence of God all around…..thank you for the reminder!!

  2. Bravo. I look forward to whatever comes my way here. Gee, I feel I had a little part in this. What a cool new word.

  3. Thank you for your message. I have really missed it. Wonderful that you are writing again. I can hear your familiar voice.

  4. Beautiful, Carol, in image and word. Thank you for sharing in this way. It is a gift that I will add to my devotions.

Leave a Reply

